Misinterpreting or jumping to conclusion, or being prejudicial

Text of email sent by me to a group of friends on 7 Oct 2016

Someone recently wrote to me “I read some time ago that an atheist constantly cursing , swearing with profanity  to God in venting his frustration is in fact believed in God.”

And I responded: “No way; a view that cannot be further from the truth…”

Now I would like to know who are the atheists [including me of course] who have been constantly cursing or swearing with profanity against God? If an atheist has written, say, 100 emails about God and in only 3 emails he said FU, God, would it be accurate to say that he was “constantly swearing…”?

If I were thinking of writing another book, it would be about communication. Missing a point or jumping to conclusion is not uncommon in a verbal conversation or even in written communication. People thought to be highly qualified are not exempt from making errors in communication, ranging from failure to answer a simple question properly to being prejudicial in their thinking. I find it amusing whenever I reflect on a dialogue with a Catholic colleague that occurred several years ago. I jokingly asked: “Do you believe that the universe is infinite, that is, endless, without any boundary in any direction”? He retorted immediately – “How do you know that the universe is infinite”? He had obviously missed something – I did not say the universe is infinite; I was only asking a question. Apparently, this is not something unusual in a conversation; which brings to mind my experience with a doctor some years ago. When I asked him for his opinion concerning a particular soybean formulation I was thinking of buying for my daughter, he retorted arrogantly with this answer: “What’s wrong with milk”? My question says nothing about milk. Whatever existed in his mind, he was evidently presumptuous or prejudicial and as a result missed the question completely. He could have simply said “I don’t know” and that would have been considered a satisfactory answer.

About the destruction or anticipated destruction from Hurricane Matthew; as usual, some people may find this comment unpalatable; a God-believer’s philosophy concerning good and evil can be fairly predictable – when good happens, praise God; when bad happens, don’t blame God, blame on something else. But God-believers hold the belief that God is omnipotent, omniscient and omnibenevolent, and that he created the Earth ex-nihilo. I would then ask: Where is the evidence for the 3O attributes, where is the logic? God is said or believed to be always “in control,” and always seems to be blameless where human suffering is concerned, despite tons of textual, biblical evidence of his obnoxious, unjustifiable violation of so-called human free will and his apparent incapability and stupidity in so many areas of his so-called creation. Ignorance of the Bible is the greatest handicap of people who believe in God being all-loving and almighty.

Leave a Reply

